Oh the horror, Joe just said the orange monster needs greased again! This time I said no, he has to find someone else to do it. I got the new tire back on after a bit of yelling at each other. I just can't understand his directions, to much information. 9 paragraphs later I have to repeat what I wanted to know to start the whole put it back together thing.... I don't even want to go there right now.... still have a bad bad taste in my mouth, stupid tractor.
I think this is day 4 with out pop. I sat here last night on the computer and kept reaching to my left for something.. felt very strange, but I was reaching for my glass that is never far from me. I don't know how many times I did it. When I would get busy on the computer I just automatically reached for my glass, I would have really liked a pop right then. Stupid water. I have been doing ok trying not to eat so much, most of my problem is I am never full. Half an hour after supper I am looking for something more to eat. I have been trying not to eat again after supper. Does anyone know if you drink a lot of water and your not use to doing that, can it give you heartburn? Since I stopped the pop and I am drinking a lot of water, I have had heartburn. I don't get it very often so this seems odd to me. I wake up in the night with it and it lingers for a while. Late afternoons it seems to hit me too. It isn't the kind that feels like a knife stabbing you, it milder, but last a long time. If anyone has an answer for me just put it in the comment box. Stupid water. Baxter found a rabbit nest today. There were no babies or any signs that there were some yet so that was good. When I saw him with his nose in the ground I kinda winced waiting for that terrible scream a rabbit can make. You never forget that sound once you have heard it.
In the picture above I was blowing into a bottle to make noise and Baxter didn't like it. In the picture he looks like he is trying to blow too.
My husband is such a lucky guy! He should be thankful that I don't mind getting my hands dirty. One of the things he liked about me when we first started dating was that I liked to work outside. I really impressed him when I put this log on my shoulder to carry to our burn pile. I did look impressive, even if I do say so. The log was very dry and half rotten, but still I looked like superwoman. I think of that once in a while, wish I could still do that but I am slowing down. I have to remind myself not to try stuff like that now. I am pretty good at listening to my body, I do what I know I can handle. So far that is working for me. The only times I have pulled a muscle or had a bad back ache is when I don't listen to that little voice that says "Don't do it!!!" I got to take the tire off the lawn tractor the other day, and last year I got to grease it. I had to crawl under it with a grease gun and pump grease into little plug like places. There were several of these plugs that you had to grease and the last on I did, I kept saying "Boy, this is going to take the whole tube of grease, it doesn't seem right." Well it wasn't right, all the grease I was pumping in was coming out at the other end of the tractor and when I finally saw it it looked like a big glob of thick, yellow, nasty stuff that was ready to fall on me. Yuck! This tractor and Joe go way back, 3 years ago I bought him a new riding lawn mower from Sears. He got to pick it out and make sure it was one he could get his leg over to get on. He still goes back to that old, dying orange monster. The money he has spent to have it towed somewhere to be repaired and the cost of the repairs we could have had a new car. I was shocked at his attempts to keep it going, after I bought the new riding mower I figured we would junk the orange one, but no, it had to be towed and repaired again.. there is just something about the old orange monster that he can't let go of. Even now, he is tinkering with it trying to get it to go. The tire has sat flat all winter so I had to pull that off and we will have to get a new one. That flat tire fixer in a spray can can only do so much, and we have used it several times already. Joe always had this look of peace and contentment when he was out riding on the orange monster, I used to tell him he just zoned out and was some place far from me. Made me a little jealous of the beast, but it has done it's share of work around here and then some. I was amazed how Joe could maneuver the This tractor and Joe go way back, 3 years ago I bought him a new riding lawn mower from Sears. He got to pick it out and make sure it was one he could get his leg over to get on. He still goes back to that old, dying orange monster. The money he has spent to have it towed somewhere to be repaired and the cost of the repairs we could have had a new car. I was shocked at his attempts to keep it going, after I bought the new riding mower I figured we would junk the orange one, but no, it had to be towed and repaired again.. there is just something about the old orange monster that he can't let go of. Even now, he is tinkering with it trying to get it to go. The tire has sat flat all winter so I had to pull that off and we will have to get a new one. That flat tire fixer in a spray can can only do so much, and we have used it several times already. Joe always had this look of peace and contentment when he was out riding on the orange monster, I used to tell him he just zoned out and was some place far from me. Made me a little jealous of the beast, but it has done it's share of work around here and then some. I was amazed how Joe could maneuver the blade on the orange monster to move a log or stump into a burn pile and put it right where he wanted it. He will be very sad the day that it is hauled off for the last time. The Orange Monster will never be able to be replaced. Kinda like me I hope. (not being able to be replaced)
Still raking and burning brush. My back is starting to hurt, I am tired and I don't want to rake any more....burn yes, rake no... We had some friends stop by while they were just out driving around, and they said how nice the yard is starting to look. I felt a little pride swelling up when they said that. I said thank you, and I meant it. I guess hard work does pay off. (with sore legs, sore back, ect.) Last night when I came in I had the chills. I never get chills, I run the other way. Hot and Sweaty. I think I might have over done it a little. The chill had me worried. Very unusual for me. I think I heard it is supposed to rain Monday, I hope so, I told Joe I think Monday will be my day of rest. I need a break.. I tried to do some house work too today and I am just plain worn out. I am still going without pop, 3 days is like the longest I have ever gone without a drink of pop.. I am hoping to cut back or stop altogether. I caught myself standing in the kitchen staring at Joe's 7up. I hate 7up, but I almost opened that can. I walked away (this time). Good thing too, It was Joe's last can and he drank it a couple of hours after I was staring at it. I felt good that the moment had passed. I don't think he would have been to happy about me drinking his last can. He has stopped drinking alcohol, so I don't want to drink his last can of pop. Man, with me not working look what is happening to us... I can't buy a case of wine, can't afford pop for the 2 of us, What is going to happen to us! I know, we will adjust, Because we can. I have had to adjust many times in the past. I just hope the house sells sooner than later, I don't know how much longer we can take care of all of this. Joe tries to help, but with 2 torn rotator cuffs he his unable to do a lot of the yard work, and a lot of the house work that he always helped with. I even asked the doctor if Joe could vacuum and he said "NO, that is not a good movement with his arms in the condition they are in!" I tried, I figured the movement would be good for him, darn.
I didn't sleep very well last night, you would have thought I'd have been dead to the world, but no. I woke up 3 times to pee, (since I trying not to drink pop I am drinking a lot of water) plus I woke up hungry. That is all I need to be up in the middle of the night eating.. don't want to start that. So the longer I tried to resist getting up to eat something, the less chance there was that I was going to fall back to sleep. I finally got up, 6:00, checked fb, and no one there, took Baxter out and checked on my burn piles. They burned all night, and looked good this morning. Put some more leaves on them and hope to keep all 3 going again today. Yesterday Joe planned on power washing our deck, we got all the stuff up there and ready to go - the power washer wouldn't work, and it is only one year old. We have a short window of time to do the deck because we get a lot of yellow stuff off the trees in the spring. Now that the power washer doesn't want to work we may have to wait till later and then it gets hot out there. Joe is going to work on it some more today so I hope he can fix it, we would hate to have to buy a new one again. The picture above is me after the long afternoon of yard work yesterday. A perfect ending to a great day!
The weather was great today and I worked outside from noon to about 5:00. I was burning leaves and brush, of which we have and endless supply of. I am worn out right now, sitting here blogging, Baxter is so tired too that his laying under my chair snoring right now. I am trying to lose some weight and boy, this had better help. I raked and pushed and toted big sticks, and leaves till I am ready to drop. I am heading for the tub after I eat and check the fires one more time. I love to burn so when I am outside burning brush or whatever, I am happy. Baxter was being silly when I took my break to rest, so I put up a slide show, Hope you all like dogs, cause I love mine!!!
I was working outside yesterday and decided to mow a little in the back, we have 4 acres and most of it is timber, so there isn't really a lot to mow. We just like to have some cleared to walk through with out having burrs or thorns in your way. For the first time ever, in all my years living, I found an antler. I have always wanted to find one! Strange to think that is something I have wanted, but that is the type of gal I am. I love walking in the woods, looking for mushrooms, and what ever great discovery that I find big or as small brings me great JOY. I love it when you see the little woodsy flowers just starting to open up. So I was very excited when I found my antler. I looked around for the other one but no luck. I was surprised how smooth it was. When I first saw it I thought I had run over a snake with the mower. Looked like part of a snake, belly up. Well that find made my whole day. It is those little things in life that make you so happy. It didn't cost anything, and by doing a little work out back I found a treasure. Baxter really liked my find, and I suppose that since antlers are considered bones, he thought he should have it. He stares at it when ever I look at it like " ok, now can I have it! "
In my endeavor to lose weight I bought a pair of Skecher Shape Ups. I have been a fan of Earth shoes for the last 4 years and they are similar, in the Earth shoe the front of the shoe is higher than the heel so you are slanted up hill as you walk. I worked in a hospital running charts around all day, sometimes 7 miles in a day, I would recommend the Earth shoes to anyone. I thought I would give the Skecher Shape Ups a try, and after a week of wearing them I have to say I do like them. An added bonus for me is that they make me taller, and I am all for anything that adds an inch or two. I was at the Monroe Hospital gift shop the other day and a lady that worked there came up to me and asked about my shoes and said the first thing she noticed when I came in was my posture, how straight I stood. She was very impressed with that. I thanked her as no one has ever commented on my posture before, so the shoes must be doing something right. A word of warning, I have heard others say that if you have bad knees or osteoporosis that these are not the shoes for you. I ran out of pop yesterday (oh the horror!!!) and maybe this is the time for me to try to stop drinking so much of it. I drank about 8 cans a day, sometimes more. I love my pop, but from all I have read it bloats you, and the diet, which is what I have drank for years, is not all that safe. I will see if cutting out pop helps with the headaches and tiredness that I have. I am not sure I can stop all together, but I am going to try. Well the sun is shinning today and I have a lot of yard work to keep me busy. We have had rain for three days and I am ready to get back outside. I like to look at this yard work as my exercise, and the reward is a soak in the tub at the end of the day.
Ok, this is it, I am making the bold statement, I am going to lose weight! I want to lose weight, I should, maybe it's not so bad, my fat clothes still fit me, there are sales on right now if I need a little bit bigger size, hummmm what is after extra large? I'm not sure. May be it is something pretty like pleasantly plump, or larger than the doorway, whoa!, I don't want to go there, I am going to lose weight. Having announced it, I hope to make myself more aware of what I am eating. I have tried all winter to shake off a few pounds, with no luck. I know stress is my biggest problem. Not having a job, stuck in the house with my hubby (whom I love dearly) 24-7, tv going almost every single hour of the day, loudly, dog needing out just when I start a project, the list goes on and on. If it wasn't for the Zolof, I would be fat and crazy. Just for the record, I have a thyroid problem, makes me eat. I was told it could go either way, lose weight or gain, I was lucky, I gained, and gained and gained. Every trip to the doc I would gain 3-5 pounds. And it continues. My husband is good at telling me, "Are you really going to eat a third helping?" makes me go for fourths. But now, I have announced to the world, or just myself, I am going to do it this time. Being unemployed I can't afford to go by new clothes everytime I grow out of the last new clothes. Have you ever noticed the people who are poor or not as well off as some are the fat people? Maybe this is a rule of the universe. Poor people eat fatty foods and gain weight because they can't afford the good food. mmmm have to think on that. Right now I am not able to put in writing what I weigh at the present time, But I promise to keep you updated on my progress. My weight is higher than it has ever been, and that picture of me is older but I always hated it, thought it made me look fat. I was...
I am so glad to see the grass turning green and little flowers starting to poke through the ground. It has been a long winter for me. My husbands health is far from good and I have been unemployed for over a year now. Living in a rural area is wonderful and I love it, but the jobs are few and far between. Maybe I should start watching the obituaries and see if anyone died was working somewhere at the time of their death, creepy, but I am getting desperate. Baxter is my greatest joy. He puts sanity back into my life. I know I am giving him a lot of credit, but I wonder sometimes where I would be if I didn't have a dog in my life. I think by now I would have killed some one, not myself, I don't believe I could do that, but I could kill some one who pissed me off enough. (not really, but I just like releasing the worst of me now and again.) I have been working outside in the yard and I think I am coming back to life. I love the outdoors and forgot how much I missed being out until I was. The nice days we have had I think pumped new life into me. There is now a rainbow in my outlook... hope... for Better Days.